Members and Non Members Welcome - Saturday 6th May 2017 – Closing Date for Entries: Wednesday 4th May 2017 - To enter please contact: Peter McDermott @ 087-2932607

Saturday 6th May 2017 Members and Non Members Welcome

Saturday 6th May 2017
Members and Non Members Welcome

Summer News from Athy Tennis Club!

Well done and thank you to all who participated in the ATC Inter-firms Tournament which was very kindly sponsored by Athy International Concentrates.  Rathangan I (Rathangan Tennis Club) won the C Section and the team members were David Donnelly, Mariusz Sygnowski, Maura O’Loughlin and Michelle Byrne.  The runners-up were ‘Dancers’ (Athy) and team members were Peter McDermott, Keith Meredith, Maureen McCauley and Jacqueline Kelly.  ‘…UISCE’ from Carlow Tennis Club won the B section with team members Michael Hyland, Michael Brennan, Mary Lyons and Eleanor Fennell.  The runners-up in the B section were H.G. Donnelly & Sons (Athy) and team members were Karl Matuschka, Tom Lane, Deirdre O’Connor and Joan McDonald Hyland.  Well done to the organisers, Charles Chambers, Miriam Rowan and Peter McDermott on another excellent inter-firms tournament.

Weekly tennis blitzes are taking place on Wednesday evenings and recent winners were Natalie Greene & Martin Farrell and Catherine Owens & Siobhan Costello.

Many thanks to all who took part in our very successful ‘sheet quiz’ fundraiser and well done to Hazel Condell for organising it.  The draw took place on 24th June.  First prize goes to Pat Smith, 2nd Prize to Ann Hendy and 3rd Prize to Patrick Flynn.

The Summer Caretaker is on duty at the club on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday throughout the summer – starting this week.  Junior Tournaments take place on Tuesdays and Thursdays.  Times are 10am-1pm for under 12′s and 2pm-5pm for older age-groups (over 12′s and under 18′s).

Athy Tennis Club 2015 Inter-Firms Tournament

The 2015 Inter-Firms Tournament takes place from 11th May to 23rd May, kindly sponsored by Athy International Concentrates.  Teams of 4:  2 ladies and 2 men, €40 entry fee per team.  Sections A, B & C (subject to entry numbers).  The closing date for entries is 5th May.  You can also let us know if you don’t have a team but wish to join one.  To enter, please contact the organisers – Peter McDermott on 087-2932607, Miriam Rowan on 087-2932607, Charles Chambers on 059-8624116.

athy tennis court sport kildare